Pride..

B asked me something recently. After scoring her 5th goal of this season, she asked me if I was proud of her.  Her query kind of took me aback for a moment. Does she think I measure my pride in her in goals?  Is that the currency she uses for her accomplishments?  I’ll admit,  like most parents, seeing my kid scoring a goal in a fast paced game of Bantam A girls hockey is as exciting for her as its for me , every goal she scores, gives her that boost of confidence she seems to lack on certain days and it proves that indeed Hockey is for everyone. Only one of her team mates knows about her EDS, she’s gone all season without disclosing the truth of her physical disabilities and manages to be continue to be a valuable asset to her team despite it. I also see myself in her (mostly her stubbornness) so when she does score, I feel it too. I am living vicariously through her during this journey, I get to be a part of something I never thought I would ever be able to..

The truth of it is, I am proud of her regardless of the score of the game. I am proud that she doesn’t use her pain or limitations as an excuse to quit, when it gets tough. I am proud of her stubbornness to tie her own skates and now does without assistance. I am proud of her commitment to her team and to her sport. I am proud that she has the passion and drive to play a sport that most kids in her position wouldn’t even consider.  I am proud that she plays with integrity and has no penalty minutes in her 2 seasons ( I may joke, but she knows I’m only kidding when I joke about celebrating her first penalty, in reality its a pretty big accomplishment in staying out of the sin bin , 2 seasons in a row) I am also proud of how she treats her teammates and coaches with respect. I am proud of every nice pass, of that cool play, that awesome assist and that shot on net even if it doesn’t go in.

My pride isn’t measured in points or even games..My pride in her is measured in who she is becoming on and off the ice… so yeah kid… mom is proud of ya…

Leave a comment